Clubs & Activities

Clubs for the 2017-18 School Year

Extracurricular activities not only make each student’s high school experience memorable, but are also integral to student education.  We understand a quality education exceeds the boundaries of a classroom.

The Clubs and Activities listed below are open to all students and grade levels unless specified.

Students can start a new club during the school year. A staff moderator is required. Please see Mrs. DeYoung for details.

 

Blue & White newspaper

Moderator: Mrs. Mary Burns maryburns@grcatholiccentral.org

The Blue & White is Catholic Central’s award-winning student newspaper. Keep in touch with student life at CC by reading the most recent issues below.

Catholic Central Association of Scholarly Science

Moderators: Mrs. Kate Schaefer kateschaefer@grcatholiccentral.org  and Mr. Tim Schrems timschrems@grcatholiccentral.org
It is our goal to provide an environment where people can enjoy themselves and their interests knowing that others share the same love of Science Fiction.  Live long and prosper.

Chinese Club

Moderator: Mrs. Nini Marshall ninimarshall@grctholiccentral.org

This is a student started club (James Pelkey and John Fitzgerald) that focuses on the celebration of Chinese culture through exciting activities.

Debate

Moderator: Mr. Josh Aldrich joshaldrich@grcatholiccentral.org

The debate team uses their research skills to prepare arguments for competition against other schools.  You should have taken at least one semester of Debate class to participate.

Earth Club

Moderator: Mrs. Sara Olson saraolson@grcatholiccentral.org
Raise awareness of environmental issues. Increase recycling and decrease waste on our own campus.

Euchre Club

Moderator: Mr. Kennedy bobkennedy@grcatholiccentral.org

New this year!  Started by Kyle Finn to bring Euchre players together.  Meet to learn the game, play some cards or help organize a year end tournament.

Finance Club

Moderator: Mr. Ryan Gorski ryangorski@grcatholiccentral.org

New this year! Started by Ian Graham for students who are interested in learning more about stocks, exploring the market and gaining an overall understanding of finances.

French Club

Moderator: Mr. Chris Jones chrisjones@grcatholiccentral.org
French Club is a social club whose main focus is promoting French culture and language at Catholic Central. At least once a month, we offer a French- related activity such as a movie night, food, cooking event, or field trip.

Guitar Club

Moderator: Mr. Bob Koch robertkoch@grcatholiccentral.org
Guitar Club is an opportunity for guitar players of all levels to meet with other guitarists and play songs together.

H.O.P.E.

Moderator: Mrs. Kris DeYoung krisdeyoung@grcatholiccentral.org
H.O.P.E. (Helping Out People Everywhere) is our volunteer club. This is your chance to learn about and participate in local service opportunities. You can choose which hands-on volunteer need fits into your schedule.

Jazz Band

Moderator: Mrs. Ann Reinhard annreinhard@grcatholiccentral.org
Jazz Band is open to current band students who are interested in exploring and performing jazz styles. Jazz Band students meet once a week  following the marching band season and participate in area jazz festivals as well as perform for CC audiences.

Mock Trial

Moderator: Mr. Peter DeWitt peterdewitt@grcatholiccentral.org and CC Parent

Students will work with legal professionals to develop knowledge about law and the legal system, plus improve critical thinking systems and speaking skills. You will assume the roles of lawyers and witnesses.  Ultimately, teams of 6-10 students compete at regional, state and national level in trial simulations.

Model United Nations

Moderator: Mr. Tim Schrems timschrems@grcatholiccentral.org and Ms. Katie DeLapp katiedelapp@grcatholiccentral.org
In this simulation of the various origins of the United Nations, students represent countries and debate relevant international issues. This academic team prepares for competition on several levels.

National Honor Society

Moderator: Mr. Peter DeWitt peterdewitt@grcatholiccentral.org and Mrs. Heather Rawe heatherrawe@grcatholiccentral.org

Students must apply to this nationally recognized program.  Membership is based upon excellence in four pillar areas: scholarship, character, leadership, and service.

Membership requirements include a 3.8 GPA (un-weighted with AP bonus) and, monthly documented service hours. In addition, students must be a model for academic honesty and disciplinary integrity.

Peace Jam

Moderator: Mr. Chris Jones chrisjones@grcatholiccentral.org
The goal of Peace Jam is to inspire a new generation of peace makers through education and action. Each year, the club studies the life of a Nobel Peace Laureate with other area high school students. In the spring, members of Peace Jam attend the Great Lakes Peace Jam conference where they meet and work directly with the Nobel Laureate.

Peer Ministry

Moderator: Deacon Dennis Rybicki dennisrybicki@grcatholiccentral.org 

Peer Ministry is an important organization, for selected Juniors and Seniors, within the Office of Campus Ministry which helps to develop the charism of community within the life of the school. Thus, Peer Ministry sets specific goals and then enacts various action items to build up the Kingdom within Catholic Central. Active committees within Peer Ministry address such issues as hospitality to and mentoring of Freshmen and new students, anti-bullying, stress and anxiety, faith and spirituality, the prevention of substance abuse, depression and self-destructive behaviors, acceptance of diversity in our school, and family issues (eg., divorce).

Peer Ministers help carry the mission of Campus Ministry into the trenches of daily student life. They are commissioned to bring a sense of Church to the student body and to serve as ambassadors to the wider Diocese. Through their lives, Peer Ministers should model the Gospel and be true servant-leaders to all they meet.

Quiz Bowl

Moderator: Mr. Josh Aldrich joshaldrich@grcatholiccentral.org

This academic team practices and competes regularly. Students use their knowledge to challenge each other and other teams in the area.

Spanish Club

Moderator: Ms. Cheryl Roede cherylroede@grcatholiccentral.org
Celebrate and explore Spanish culture outside the classroom!

Students for Life

Moderators: Mr. Justin Menno justinmenno@grcatholiccentral.org

Students bring awareness of life issues to others in the Catholic Central community. Through education, prayer, and volunteer opportunities, Teens for Life joins other local, state, and national groups in fighting for the defenseless both born and unborn.

Writers Group

Moderator: Mrs. Heather Rawe heatherrawe@grcatholiccentral.org
Students share writing in an encouraging environment. This is a chance to not only practice writing, also but find out about community events that promote writing.